Dr. Rogers Prize™ Groundbreaker Awards

 In Awards










Dr. Rogers Prize announces 10th Anniversary Award to honour Canada’s CAM pioneers

Vancouver, BC (September, 2016): In celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine in 2017, the Lotte and John Hecht Memorial Foundation is pleased to announce the creation of a new one-time award to honour the pioneering spirit of the CAM leaders who paved the way for a new era in Canadian health care.

The Groundbreaker Awards will recognize those individuals whose personal conviction to pursue practices above and beyond the medical status quo prepared the way for future leaders, evocative of Sir Isaac Newton’s famous quote - “If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants.” Recipients will each receive a cash award of $50,000 CAD in recognition of their efforts in transforming the culture of health care in Canada. The recipients of the Groundbreaker Awards will be announced in January 2017 and the prizes presented at a Gala Award Dinner to be held in Toronto in February.

The Groundbreaker Awards recipients will be selected by an international jury of experts:

Dr. James S. Gordon, MD (USA) – Founder and Director of The Center for Mind-Body Medicine. Dr. Gordon served as chairman of the White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy;

Dr. George Lewith, MD (UK) – Past President of the International Society of Complementary Medicine Research. Dr. Lewith has acted as a consultant and/or committee member to government agencies, funding bodies and charities in the UK and overseas. These include the UK and Singapore Departments of Health, MRC, Wellcome Trust, WHO, NIH and FDA (US), Samueli, Bosch Stiftung, and the Prince of Wales Trust for Integrated Medicine;

Dr. Joseph Pizzorno, ND (USA) - Founding President of Bastyr University. Among his many accomplishments are his appointments by President Clinton in 2000 to the White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy, and by President Bush’s administration to the Medicare Coverage Advisory Committee in 2002;

Dr. Mary Ann Richardson, PhD (USA) – Former Director of Research of the National Foundation for Alternative Medicine in Washington, DC;

Dr. Simon Sutcliffe, MD (Canada) – Former Chairman of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer and former President of the BC Cancer Agency.


The Dr. Rogers Prize for Excellence in Complementary and Alternative Medicine is a $250,000 cash prize awarded every two years to celebrate the achievements of researchers, practitioners, and others in the field of CAM healthcare, innovators who dare to “push the boundaries” in pursuing new approaches to wellness and the treatment of illness. The largest prize of its kind, the first Dr. Rogers Prize was awarded in 2007.

The Dr. Rogers Prize recognizes those who embody the same level of vision, leadership, and integrity as that of the late Dr. Roger Hayward Rogers. Among the first physicians to provide non-traditional therapies for cancer patients, Dr. Rogers was appointed to the Order of British Columbia in 2001 in recognition of his ground-breaking work.

The Call for Nominations for the 2017 Dr. Rogers Prize will be announced in February.


Dr. Alastair Cunningham (2007)
Dr. Abram Hoffer (2007)
Dr. Hal Gunn (2009)
Dr. Badri (Bud) Rickhi (2009)
Dr. Marja Verhoef (2011)
Dr. Sunita Vohra (2013)
Dr. Heather Boon (2015)


Visit www.DrRogersPrize.org for more information.

Media contact:
Kate MacDonald
Dr. Rogers Prize Coordinator
(604) 683-7575

Web Designer